Late Post: Wake Me Up When September Ends

I think, I wanna be forever young..

A surprise birthday cake from a dear friend of mine. Still wondering, "am I that old?" I think I'm forever young.

A surprise birthday cake from a dear friend of mine. Still wondering, “am I that old?” I think I’m forever young.

September is my favorite month of the year. It sounds sexy when you pronounce the word ‘September’, either fast or slow. Well, perhaps because September is my month of birth. I don’t personally know many people who born in September, thus why I always have a thought of being special as a girl was born in late September, September 30 to be precise.

I always have an idea that most Septemberians are naturally born with romantic souls. Maybe because Septemberians belong to the zodiac group of Libra. You know, they say Libra tends to view life in balance. However, I’m not that type of person who reads zodiac regularly on weekly magazine. So, ignore what I’m saying.

I’m officially 26 years old.

Yes, I was one of people who always wait for a birthday to come. Simply because I wanted to have that beautiful presents from my family members and friends, I wanted to read the cards they wished me a happy birthday on. I was always curious to know who’s the first one to call me that special night. Birthday was (and is) so special. It is the only day in a year when you will be treated special. Everyone will congratulate and give you a hug, kiss you on the forehead, and smile at you all day long. You will find hundreds of messages on your Facebook wall, tons of mentions on your Twitter, likes on your Instagram, and so on, and so forth.

But, I’m no longer that person who waits for a surprise party or beautiful presents on my birthday.

Birthday is still special, and probably will always be. But the way I see its specialty changes over time. And as I grow older, (you bet, I’m 26 year old) birthday is more like that day of contemplation. To be honest, I don’t like the fact that my age changes after my special two-zero (20). It went fast, from one to two to three, and now stands on six. Time flies. Cliche.

Birthday is the day of contemplation.

Been living for more than 26 years on earth, what have I done? And what’s next?

That is the critical question.

What have you done, Eliyan?

What happened on my birthday:
I slept too early (around 9 p.m), woke up at 11 p.m., and went to sleep again. I woke up at 1.30 am because of a call from a friend, talked to him for couple seconds, and realized that I was officially 26. I went through inbox on my cell phone, and found four messages, one of them was from someone special (is he still?). I was secretly hoping he would be the first to call, though.. but not really, well forget it. After then, I stumbled upon Twitter and Facebook for a little while, and went back to sleep. I woke up again at 4 a.m., and took the night prayer. I didn’t sleep again, was just sitting and contemplating about myself and my life. My sister was the first to congratulate me in the morning, my young brother called (I didn’t pick it), and and my life goes back to routine. I was alone at the office, till one of my coworkers came, and we talked, and we laughed, and we laughed. I got some calls from friends, few messages on my inbox, a lot of wall posts on Facebook, and mentions on twitter. A dear friend of mine brought me a birthday cake when I arrived home. We chatted, laughed, and ate the cake together after break fasting. I got some calls again, and few messages, my daddy kissed me on the forehead and wished me a good luck. I got 2 midnight calls from dear friends who live in different city, talked to them for a while, and I couldn’t sleep. I tried to summarize everything, and I came up with only one sentence:
THANKS GOD, for being here, there, and everywhere in my life.

Memory: The picture was taken on my 25th birthday. I had the best surprise party ever. (Lakewood-Washington)

Memory: The picture was taken on my 25th birthday. I had the best surprise party ever. (Lakewood-Washington)

2 comments

Leave Your Foot Prints

